Account

Company

  Menu

Description

Political skullduggery, passion and ambition clash in this intriguing, evocative and compelling novel by much loved author Candace Robb. Vividly conjuring up the medieval world, it's the perfect treat for fans of Ellis Peters, S J Parris, Conn Iggulden and Bernard Cornwell.

'Robb deftly interweaves a complex story of love, passion and murder into the troubled and tangled fabric of Welsh history, fashioning a rich and satisfying novel' -- Publishers Weekly
'This compelling historical mystery lives up to the standard set by the master medievalist Ellis Peters' -- Booklist
'Entertaining and informative' -- ***** Reader review
'A must-read' -- ***** Reader review
'Very exciting and captivating' -- ***** Reader review
'Superb' -- ***** Reader review

***********************************************************************************
POLITICS, PASSION AND AMBITION COMBINE WITH MURDEROUS RESULTS...
1369: a pilgrimage wends its way to the sacred city of St David's. Owen Archer, ex-soldier and sometime spy, accompanies the party to recruit archers for the Duke of Lancaster, who prepares to fight the French. But he and Geoffrey Chaucer have another, covert, mission: to ascertain whether the Duke's steward at Cydweli is betraying him to Welsh rebels.

Trouble precedes them: a body in the Duke's livery is left at the city gates. And when Owen rides on to Cydweli he finds the household of the steward and his beautiful young wife rocked by the theft of money from the exchequer and riven by tension, culminating in another violent attack.

He must work fast to investigate charges of treachery, infidelity and murder if he is to prevent further deaths.

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Track It. This book has been £0.99 within the past year.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • £
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track Candace Robb on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by Candace Robb.
  • to stop tracking Candace Robb.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on February 15, 2014.
  • This book was £4.31 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 24 times in the past 3,660 days.
  • The current price of this book is £5.99 last checked 2 days ago.
  • This lowest price this book has been offered at in the past six months is £4.99.
  • This lowest price this book has been offered at in the past year is £0.99.
  • The lowest price to date was £0.99 last reached on February 1, 2023.
  • This book has been £0.99 2 times since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was £7.99 last reached on April 7, 2021.
  • This book has been £7.99 2 times since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • Lending: Disabled
  • Print Length: 324 Pages
  • File Size: 3,171 KB

We last verified the price of this book about 2 days ago. At that time, the price was £5.99. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.co.uk website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.