Account

Company

  Menu
Large Image

Burial Rites

by (Picador)

(3,836 reviews)

£4.99

Share This

Description

Set against Iceland's stark landscape, Hannah Kent brings to vivid life the story of Agnes, who is charged with the brutal murder of her former master.

'Outstanding' - Madeline Miller

- The Women's Prize for Fiction Shortlist
- The Guardian First Book Award Shortlist
- The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards Shortlist

Iceland, 1829 - Agnes Magnúsdóttir is condemned to death for her part in the murder of her lover.

Agnes is sent to wait out her final months on the farm of district officer Jón Jónsson, his wife and their two daughters. Horrified to have a convicted murderer in their midst, the family avoid contact with Agnes. Only Tóti, the young assistant priest appointed Agnes's spiritual guardian, is compelled to try to understand her. As the year progresses and the hardships of rural life force the household to work side by side, Agnes's story begins to emerge and with it the family's terrible realization that all is not as they had assumed.

Based on actual events, Burial Rites is an astonishing and moving novel about the truths we claim to know and the ways in which we interpret what we're told. In beautiful, cut-glass prose, Hannah Kent portrays Iceland's formidable landscape, in which every day is a battle for survival, and asks, how can one woman hope to endure when her life depends upon the stories told by others?

Inspired by a true story, Burial Rites is perfect for fans of Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood and The Lifeboat by Charlotte Rogan.

'Sublime' - Sunday Telegraph

'One of the most gripping, intriguing and unique books I've read this year' - Kate Mosse

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
7701 (1)

Our Recommendation

Track It. This book has been £0.99 within the past year.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • £
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track Hannah Kent on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by Hannah Kent.
  • to stop tracking Hannah Kent.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on April 29, 2013.
  • This book was £8.05 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 79 times in the past 3,390 days.
  • The current price of this book is £4.99 last checked 6 hours ago.
  • This lowest price this book has been offered at in the past year is £0.99.
  • The lowest price to date was £0.99 last reached on June 30, 2022.
  • This book has been £0.99 6 times since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was £8.05 last reached on April 29, 2013.
  • This book has been £8.05 one time since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • Lending: Disabled
  • Print Length: 353 Pages
  • File Size: 4,077 KB

We last verified the price of this book about 6 hours ago. At that time, the price was £4.99. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.co.uk website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.