Account

Company

  Menu
Large Image

The Combinations

by (Equus Press)

(7 reviews)

£4.34

Share This

Description

THE COMBINATIONS, a novel, by Louis Armand. 888pp + xxxvii. Publication date: May 2016. Equus Press: London.

IS THIS THE ULTIMATE "PRAGUE NOVEL"?
The "European anti-novel" in all its unrepentant glory is here in The Combinations, following in the tradition of Sterne, Rabelais, Cervantes, Joyce, Perec.

"Armand has written an important and corrosive novel, which is a commitment to creativity in the face of absurdity, a politics of avant garde literary concentration and experience that knows, as Camus had it, that: 'The innocent is the person who explains nothing.'" -- Richard Marshall, 3AM magazine

Shortlisted for the 2016 Not the Booker prize.

"Louis Armand's The Combinations is a 'great novel' -- long and complex. It exemplifies remarkably the possibilities of the genre and contradicts the contemporary obsession with its decline and commodification." --Jean Bessiere, Sorbonne-Paris III

In 8 octaves, 64 chapters and on 888 pages, Louis Armand's The Combinations is a "work of attempted fiction" that combines the beauty & intellectual exertion that is chess with the panorama of futility & chaos that is Prague (a.k.a. "Golem City"), across the 20th-century and before/after. Golem City, the ship of fools boarded by the famed D's (e.g. John) and K's (e.g. Edward) of the 16th/17th centuries (who attempted and failed to turn lead into gold), and the infamous H's (e.g. Adolf, e.g. Reinhard) of the 20th (who attempted and succeeded in turning flesh into soap). Armand's prose weaves together the City's thousand-and-one fascinating tales with a deeply personal account of one lost soul set adrift amid the early-90s' awakening from the nightmare that was the previous half-century of communist Mitteleuropa. The Combinations is a text whose 1) erudition dazzles, 2) structure humbles, 3) monotony never bores, 4) humour disarms, 5) relentlessness overwhelms, 6) storytelling captivates, 7) poignancy remains poignant, and 8) style simply never exhausts itself. Your move, Reader.

"Kafka's The Trial meets Robert Musil's The Man Without Qualities."

Louis Armand is a writer and visual artist who has lived in Prague since 1994. He has worked as an editor and publisher, and as a subtitles technician at the Karlovy Vary Film Festival, and is an editor of VLAK magazine. He is the author of eight novels, including Breakfast at Midnight in 2012, "a perfect modern noir, presenting Kafka's Prague as a bleak, monochrome singularity of darkness, despair and edgy, dry existentialist hardboil" (Richard Marshall, 3:AM) and Cairo (2014; short listed for the Guardian newspaper's Not-the-Booker Prize)). Described as "Robert Pinget does Canetti (in drag in Yugoslavia)," Armand's third novel Clair Obscur was published by Equus in 2011. His previous novel, Menudo (Antigen), was hailed as "unrelenting, a flying wedge, an encyclopaedia of the wasteland, an uzi assault pumping desolation lead... inspiring!" (Thor Garcia, author of The News Clown).

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Track It. This book has been £3.31 within the past year.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • £
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track Louis Armand on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by Louis Armand.
  • to stop tracking Louis Armand.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on August 31, 2016.
  • This book was £6.76 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 2 times in the past 2,846 days.
  • The current price of this book is £4.34 last checked 18 days ago.
  • This book is at its lowest price in the past 90 days.
  • This lowest price this book has been offered at in the past year is £3.31.
  • The lowest price to date was £3.31 last reached on October 3, 2017.
  • This book has been £3.31 one time since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was £6.76 last reached on August 31, 2016.
  • This book has been £6.76 one time since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Text-to-Speech: Disabled
  • Lending: Disabled
  • File Size: 21,677 KB

We last verified the price of this book about 18 days ago. At that time, the price was £4.34. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.co.uk website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.