Account

Company

  Menu
Large Image

The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution

by (Princeton University Press)

(12 reviews)

£15.19 £18.71 Save 19%

Share This

Description

On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction

The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin's purges. A vivid account of the personal and public lives of Bolshevik true believers, the book begins with their conversion to Communism and ends with their children's loss of faith and the fall of the Soviet Union.

Completed in 1931, the House of Government, later known as the House on the Embankment, was located across the Moscow River from the Kremlin. The largest residential building in Europe, it combined 505 furnished apartments with public spaces that included everything from a movie theater and a library to a tennis court and a shooting range. Slezkine tells the chilling story of how the building's residents lived in their apartments and ruled the Soviet state until some eight hundred of them were evicted from the House and led, one by one, to prison or their deaths.

Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, The House of Government weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable human saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared.

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Track It. This book may eventually drop below £9.99.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • £
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track Yuri Slezkine on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by Yuri Slezkine.
  • to stop tracking Yuri Slezkine.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on July 26, 2017.
  • This book was £19.34 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 113 times in the past 753 days.
  • The current price of this book is £15.19 last checked one hour ago.
  • The lowest price to date was £15.19 last reached on June 3, 2019.
  • This book has been £15.19 one time since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was £23.99 last reached on November 16, 2017.
  • This book has been £23.99 one time since we started tracking it.
  • This book is currently at its lowest price since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • Lending: Disabled
  • Print Length: 1,106 Pages
  • File Size: 28,966 KB

We last verified the price of this book about one hour ago. At that time, the price was £15.19. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.co.uk website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.