Account

Company

  Menu
Large Image

Three Novels by César Aira (Penguin Essentials)

by (Penguin)

(34 reviews)

£4.99 £5.99 Save 17%

Share This

Description

Three novels by Cesar Aira combines three short novels by the cult Argentinian writer in one beautifully designed box set.

Irreverent, playful, provocative and prolific, Argentinian author Cesar Aira has written over seventy books and has been acknowledged internationally to be one of the most original and provocative authors in world literature. Collected here are three of his novellas, to be published for the very first time in the UK.

In Ghosts, an immigrant worker's family are squatting on the haunted construction site of a luxury condominium building. All of the workmen and their families see the ghosts which float around the place, but one teenage girl's interest in them becomes so intense that her mother realizes her life is in the balance. An Episode in the Life of a Landscape Painter tells of a point in the life of German painter Johann Moritz Rugendas, when he visits Latin America to paint its spectacular landscapes. There, a strange episode interrupts his trip and irreversibly marks him for life. And in The Literary Conference, a young translator called Cesar Aira travels to a literary conference, intent on world domination...
Praise for Cesar Aira:

'Once you've started reading Aira, you don't want to stop' Roberto Bolaño

'Aira is firmly in the tradition of Jorge Luis Borges and W. G. Sebald' Los Angeles Times

Cesar Aira was born in Coronel Pringles, Argentina, in 1949, and has lived in Buenos Aires since 1967. One of the most prolific writers in Argentina, Aira has published more than seventy books.

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Get It This book is at its lowest price since we started tracking it.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • £
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track César Aira on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by César Aira.
  • to stop tracking César Aira.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on July 1, 2018.
  • This book was £4.99 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 4 times in the past 1,550 days.
  • The current price of this book is £4.99 last checked 10 hours ago.
  • The lowest price to date was £4.99 last reached on September 17, 2022.
  • This book has been £4.99 3 times since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was £5.99 last reached on August 5, 2022.
  • This book has been £5.99 2 times since we started tracking it.
  • This book is currently at its lowest price since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • Lending: Disabled
  • Print Length: 336 Pages
  • File Size: 2,437 KB

We last verified the price of this book about 10 hours ago. At that time, the price was £4.99. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.co.uk website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.