Account

Company

  Menu
Large Image

Description

The unforgettable story behind the most destructive day in British military history...
June, 1916: The Great War is locked in stalemate, deep lines of trenches and barbed wire carved into the French countryside.

Sitting in an occupied chateau, General von Soden knows that something cataclysmic is coming. The British have been shelling for days and he is badly under-resourced and outnumbered. A frontal assault is surely imminent, but he has spent two years building an extraordinary series of defences for just that day...

Amidst the bombardment the British troops are preparing for the attack. Geoffrey Malins, with his cinematograph, Noel Hodgson writing poetry in his hut, Siegfried Sassoon observing the enemy, Sir Douglas Haig at HQ, waiting for the chance of glory...

As the battle lines muster, the full ferocity of war will be unleashed. For those on the Front, as for those in the wider world, nothing will ever be the same again.

Based on true stories, cinematic in scope and built around a huge cast, this is a blistering, unforgettable novel that brings home the brutality of war, perfect for fans of Rory Clements, Ben Macintyre and Robert Harris.

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Track It. This book has been £0.99 within the past year.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • £
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track Iain Gale on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by Iain Gale.
  • to stop tracking Iain Gale.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on February 2, 2019.
  • This book was £3.99 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 4 times in the past 381 days.
  • The current price of this book is £2.99 last checked 12 hours ago.
  • This lowest price this book has been offered at in the past year is £0.99.
  • The lowest price to date was £0.99 last reached on November 3, 2019.
  • This book has been £0.99 one time since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was £3.99 last reached on February 2, 2019.
  • This book has been £3.99 one time since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • Lending: Disabled
  • Print Length: 336 Pages
  • File Size: 831 KB

We last verified the price of this book about 12 hours ago. At that time, the price was £2.99. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.co.uk website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.