Account

Company

  Menu

Description

"I thought I had read all the good books on the war in Burma, but this is the best yet." Brigadier Michael Calvert


This is the story of the Fourteenth Army in Burma and the two great battles of Imphal and Kohima, in which the Japanese suffered the greatest defeat in their history.


In 1942, following their lightning strikes on Pearl Harbor and Hong Kong, the Japanese invaded Burma.


British forces were rapidly driven out, following a swift and total defeat. The British and Indian forces retaliated with limited offences and with mixed results.


The Japanese advance continued, driving victoriously for the domination of Asia. Then came the Japanese attack of Imphal and Kohima, starting one of the most ferocious campaign of the war.


Burma Victory portrays the "forgotten war" and the Allied fight to push the Japanese out of Burma.


David Rooney - who saw war service in India and West Africa - tells the story of the campaigns of the new Fourteenth Army, under the command of the remarkable General Slim.


Rooney captures the ebb and flow of battle and the roles of Wingate, Stilwell and the Chindits. In doing so, he offers a new analysis of the role of airpower and highlights the influence of British, American, Japanese and Chinese thinking at the highest level.


Burma Victory is essential reading for anyone interested in General Slim, the Second World War and how defeat can be turned into victory.


Recommended reading for fans of Max Hastings, Antony Beevor and Andrew Roberts.

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Track It. This book has been £0.99 within the past year.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • £
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track David Rooney on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by David Rooney.
  • to stop tracking David Rooney.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on June 11, 2019.
  • This book was £2.99 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 19 times in the past 1,859 days.
  • The current price of this book is £2.99 last checked 13 hours ago.
  • This book is at its lowest price in the past 90 days.
  • This lowest price this book has been offered at in the past year is £0.99.
  • The lowest price to date was £0.99 last reached on March 1, 2024.
  • This book has been £0.99 9 times since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was £2.99 last reached on April 1, 2024.
  • This book has been £2.99 4 times since we started tracking it.
  • This book is currently at its highest price since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • Lending: Disabled
  • Print Length: 262 Pages
  • File Size: 3,666 KB

We last verified the price of this book about 13 hours ago. At that time, the price was £2.99. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.co.uk website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.