Account

Company

  Menu
Large Image

The Orkney Cycle: The Shattering Sea

by (House of Legends)

(20 reviews)

FREE £0.77 Save 100%

Share This

Description

IN IRON AGE ORKNEY, TWO RACES STAND ON THE BRINK OF WAR.

The finfolk have summoned an Azawan, a creature of nightmare, and the Orkadi are powerless to stop it.

Talorc, whose family were slain by the demon, and Runa, Princess of the Orkadi, set out to destroy the Azawan.

The secrets they uncover will change their world forever - if they live long enough to share them...

Wolf Brother meets Percy Jackson in The Shattering Sea, a stunning young adult fantasy adventure set in Prehistoric Scotland. Fast-paced, full of twists and rooted in Celtic mythology, it is perfect for fans of Michelle Paver, Sophie Anderson and Neil Gaiman.

The author, Daniel Allison, is an acclaimed oral storyteller who tells Scottish myths and legends everywhere from schools and prisons to global festivals. He hosts the House of Legends Podcast and is the author of The Shattering Sea, Scottish Myths & Legends and Finn & The Fianna. His fiction is rooted in ancient Scottish tales of selkies, kelpies and witchcraft, and is adored by adults and children alike.

'A tremendous read... no end of dramas, surprises & reversals of fortune... a rattling good plot... wonderful stuff'

Fay Sampson, Guardian Children's Book Award-Nominated Author

'A born storyteller weaves Scottish island myths into a driving narrative of survival'

Ian Stephen, Saltire Award-Nominated Author

'A thrilling tale that twists and turns as you eagerly turn the pages. It breathes new life into the creatures of Orkney's folklore for a new generation of readers.'

Tom Muir, Author of Orkney Folk Tales

'Extraordinary... my daughter is a big fan of Chronicles of Ancient Darkness and this is right up there'

Reader Review

'Absolutely incredible. Has you gripped with hooked talons from the first page!'

Reader Review

'Up there with my favourite fantasy adventures'

Reader Review

'One of the best books I have ever read'

Reader Review

'I simply could not put this book down'

Reader Review

Praise for Scottish Myths & Legends (Celtic Myths & Legends Retold):

'One of the best collections I have ever read'

Reader Review

'Deserves to be a classic'

Reader Review

Praise for Finn & The Fianna (Celtic Myths & Legends Retold):

'A masterpiece... this is Celtic myths and legends at their fantastic best! Your eyes dare not blink for fear of missing a single word.'

Jess Smith, Author of Way of the Wanderers

DOWNLOAD OR SAMPLE THE SHATTERING SEA NOW

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Get It This book is free, possibly only for a limited time.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • £
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track Daniel Allison on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by Daniel Allison.
  • to stop tracking Daniel Allison.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on April 2, 2020.
  • This book was £0.00 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 10 times in the past 246 days.
  • The current price of this book is FREE last checked 3 hours ago.
  • The lowest price to date was FREE last reached on November 8, 2020.
  • This book has been FREE 3 times since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was £3.99 last reached on April 7, 2020.
  • This book has been £3.99 one time since we started tracking it.
  • This book is currently at its lowest price since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • Lending: Disabled
  • Print Length: 324 Pages
  • File Size: 5,555 KB

We last verified the price of this book about 3 hours ago. At that time, the price was £0.00. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.co.uk website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.