Account

Company

  Menu
Large Image

The Drums of War (Thomas Tallant Mysteries Book 3)

by (Sharpe Books)

(349 reviews)

£0.99 £2.99 Save 67%

Share This

Description

'A stirring, page-turning mystery which brings the turbulent Civil War years to life.' Steven Veerapen, author of the Simon Danforth Mysteries.

London 1642.

The King has fled London with the drums of war ringing in his ears. Across the country, lines are being drawn and armies raised.

Influential royalist Lady Carlisle switches sides and presses spice trader Thomas Tallant and his partner Elizabeth Seymour into Parliament's service.

Soon Thomas faces double-dealing in his hunt for a lethal hoard of gunpowder hidden on the river, while Elizabeth engages in a race against time to locate a hidden sniper picking off Parliamentary officers at will in the city.

The capital also witnesses a vicious gang of jewel thieves take advantage of the city's chaos to go on the rampage, smashing homes and shops, leaving a trail of destruction in their wake. They hand pick their targets but refrain from selling any of their loot. There are more questions than answers.

When war finally erupts, Elizabeth is caught in the brutalising carnage of Edgehill while Thomas joins the Trained Bands in their defence of the city. As he mans the barricades at Brentford, in a desperate rearguard action to repel Prince Rupert's surprise attack, he realises the future of London rests in the hands of him and a few hundred troopers.

Meanwhile, Elizabeth believes she has identified the jewel thief and goes underground to trace his hoard.

But all is not as it seems.

Recommended for fans of Andrew Taylor, John Pilkington and Michael Jecks.

Michael Ward is a former journalist and academic. He is also the author of Rags of Time and The Wrecking Storm in the Thomas Tallant series.

Praise for Michael Ward:
'A cracking adventure! Treads the turbulent streets of pre-civil war London.' Mark Turnbull, author of The King's Spy.

'I loved it; a wickedly dark murder mystery set in Stuart London.' Jemahl Evans, author of The Last Roundhead.

'Tom Tallant is an engaging hero in a dangerous world. Michael Ward creates a convincing atmosphere of London on the eve of the Civil War, from the violent underbelly of the Thameside to the domains of the rich and powerful.' John Pilkington, author of the Thomas the Falconer mystery series.

'A tense and thrilling mystery, weaved through a London on the brink of war. Told with style, class, and a masterful eye for detail.' Steven Veerapen, author of the Simon Danforth Mysteries.

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Get It This book is only £0.99.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • £
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track Michael Ward on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by Michael Ward.
  • to stop tracking Michael Ward.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on October 29, 2022.
  • This book was £2.99 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 9 times in the past 575 days.
  • The current price of this book is £0.99 last checked 12 hours ago.
  • The lowest price to date was £0.99 last reached on April 30, 2024.
  • This book has been £0.99 5 times since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was £2.99 last reached on April 1, 2024.
  • This book has been £2.99 5 times since we started tracking it.
  • This book is currently at its lowest price since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • Lending: Disabled
  • Print Length: 237 Pages
  • File Size: 754 KB

We last verified the price of this book about 12 hours ago. At that time, the price was £0.99. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.co.uk website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.