Account

Company

  Menu
Large Image

Share This

Description

In war-torn Warsaw, a zookeeper and his wife refuse to surrender...

Now a major motion picture starring Jessica Chastain and Daniel Brühl, Diane Ackerman's The Zookeeper's Wife is based on a remarkable true story of bravery and sanctuary during World War II. Perfect for fans of Lion and Hidden Figures.

'I can't imagine a better story or storyteller. The Zookeeper's Wife will touch every nerve you have' -Jonathan Safran Foer, author of Everything is Illuminated

When Germany invades Poland, Luftwaffe bombers devastate Warsaw and the city's zoo along with it. With most of their animals killed, or stolen away to Berlin, zookeepers Jan and Antonina Zabinski begin smuggling Jews into the empty cages.

As the war escalates Jan becomes increasingly involved in the anti-Nazi resistance. Ammunition is buried in the elephant enclosure and explosives stored in the animal hospital. Plans are prepared for what will become the Warsaw uprising. Through the ever-present fear of discovery, Antonina must keep her unusual household afloat, caring for both its human and animal inhabitants - otters, a badger, hyena pups, lynxes - as Europe crumbles around them.

Written with the narrative drive and emotional punch of a novel, The Zookeeper's Wife is a remarkable true story. It shows us the human and personal impact of war - of life in the Warsaw Ghetto, of fighting in the anti-Nazi resistance. But more than anything it is a story of decency and sacrifice triumphing over terror and oppression.

What readers are saying about The Zookeeper's Wife:

'Beautifully and sensitively written - a must read'

'An adventure that inspires'

'Both horrifying and endearing on a scale I've not experienced in years'

'A story that will haunt you forever'

'Haunting, life affirming, sad, and inspiring'

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Get It This book is at its lowest price within the past year.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • £
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track Diane Ackerman on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by Diane Ackerman.
  • to stop tracking Diane Ackerman.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on May 15, 2015.
  • This book was £4.31 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 12 times in the past 2,754 days.
  • The current price of this book is £3.99 last checked 5 hours ago.
  • This book is at its lowest price in the past year.
  • The lowest price to date was £0.99 last reached on November 1, 2019.
  • This book has been £0.99 one time since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was £6.99 last reached on November 5, 2016.
  • This book has been £6.99 one time since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • Lending: Disabled
  • Print Length: 413 Pages
  • File Size: 2,053 KB

We last verified the price of this book about 5 hours ago. At that time, the price was £3.99. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.co.uk website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.