Account

Company

  Menu
Large Image

Description

Discover football's astonishing hidden rules in The Numbers Game by Chris Anderson and David Sally

*Fully updated with a new World Cup chapter*

Football has always been a numbers game: 4-4-2, the big number 9 and 3 points for a win. But what if up until now we've been focusing on the wrong numbers? What if the numbers that really matter, the ones that hold the key to winning matches, are actually 2.66, 53.4, 50/50, and 0 > 1? What if managers only make a 15% difference? What if Chelsea should have bought Darren Bent?

In this incisive, myth-busting book, Chris Anderson, former goalkeeper turned football statistics guru, and David Sally, former baseball pitcher turned behavioural economist, show that every shred of knowledge we can gather can help us to love football and understand it even more. You'll discover why stopping a goal is more valuable than scoring one, why corners should be taken short, and why it is better to improve your worst player than to buy a superstar.

You'll never play, or watch, a game of football in quite the same way again.

The Numbers Game is essential reading for football fans everywhere and will also appeal to readers who loved Moneyball and Freakonomics.

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Get It This book is at its lowest price within the past year.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • £
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track Chris Anderson on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by Chris Anderson.
  • to stop tracking Chris Anderson.

to track David Sally on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by David Sally.
  • to stop tracking David Sally.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on May 14, 2013.
  • This book was £7.99 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 84 times in the past 3,946 days.
  • The current price of this book is £4.99 last checked 18 hours ago.
  • This book is at its lowest price in the past year.
  • The lowest price to date was £0.99 last reached on November 30, 2022.
  • This book has been £0.99 2 times since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was £8.64 last reached on April 24, 2014.
  • This book has been £8.64 7 times since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Text-to-Speech: Disabled
  • Lending: Disabled
  • Print Length: 372 Pages
  • File Size: 4,042 KB

We last verified the price of this book about 18 hours ago. At that time, the price was £4.99. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.co.uk website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.