Account

Company

  Menu
Large Image

The Outcasts of Time

by

(2,826 reviews)

£4.99

Share This

Description

'Beautifully written and superbly executed' Times
'This clever and moving Faustian tale is packed with fascinating historical detail' Express
'A joyous romp around England's dark past' Suzie Feay, Guardian

From the author of the bestselling The Time Traveller's Guide to Restoration Britain, this is a stunningly high-concept historical novel that is both as daring as it is gripping, and perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden, SJ Parris and Kate Mosse.

December 1348. With the country in the grip of the Black Death, brothers John and William fear that they will shortly die and go to Hell. But as the end draws near, they are given an unexpected choice: either to go home and spend their last six days in their familiar world, or to search for salvation across the forthcoming centuries - living each one of their remaining days ninety-nine years after the last.

John and William choose the future and find themselves in 1447, ignorant of almost everything going on around them. The year 1546 brings no more comfort, and 1645 challenges them still further. It is not just that technology is changing: things they have taken for granted all their lives prove to be short-lived.

As they find themselves in stranger and stranger times, the reader travels with them, seeing the world through their eyes as it shifts through disease, progress, enlightenment and war. But their time is running out - can they do something to redeem themselves before the six days are up?

What readers are saying:

'Wow, what a book! I absolutely adored this. This was ambitious but done to perfection' Sara Marsden

'The Outcasts of Time is a tour de force, rich in spellbinding detail. Haunting and atmospheric, there is warmth and humour alongside fear and torment; all human life is here. As perfect a novel as any I've ever read' Ophelia's Reads

'A fascinating trip through seven centuries of history... The author has done well to traverse such a sweep of time... it's a great read and I'd recommend it' Netgalley reviewer, 4 stars

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Track It. This book has been £0.99 within the past year.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • £
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track Ian Mortimer on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by Ian Mortimer.
  • to stop tracking Ian Mortimer.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on September 19, 2016.
  • This book was £7.99 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 19 times in the past 2,775 days.
  • The current price of this book is £4.99 last checked one day ago.
  • This book is at its lowest price in the past 90 days.
  • This lowest price this book has been offered at in the past year is £0.99.
  • The lowest price to date was £0.99 last reached on December 2, 2023.
  • This book has been £0.99 9 times since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was £7.99 last reached on December 2, 2017.
  • This book has been £7.99 2 times since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Text-to-Speech: Disabled
  • Lending: Disabled
  • Print Length: 391 Pages
  • File Size: 4,724 KB

We last verified the price of this book about one day ago. At that time, the price was £4.99. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.co.uk website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.