Account

Company

  Menu
Large Image

Share This

Description

'Winningly eccentric... London, in all its non-homogenous, sprawling splendour, is as much a character as Fowler's sleuthing duo' Barry Forshaw, Financial Times

The Peculiar Crimes Unit has solved many extraordinary cases over the years, but some were hushed up and hidden away. Until now.
Arthur Bryant remembers these lost cases as if they were yesterday. Unfortunately, he doesn't remember yesterday, so the newly revealed facts could come as a surprise to everyone, including his exasperated partner John May.

Here, then, is the truth about the Covent Garden opera diva and the seventh reindeer, the body that falls from the Tate Gallery, the ordinary London street corner where strange accidents keep occurring, the consul's son discovered buried in the unit's basement, the corpse pulled from a swamp of Chinese dinners, a Hallowe'en crime in the Post Office Tower, and the impossible death that's the fault of a forgotten London legend. All of the unit's oddest characters are here, plus the detectives' long-suffering sergeant Janice Longbright gets to reveal her own forgotten mystery.

These twelve crimes must be solved without the help of modern technology, mainly because nobody knows how to use it. Expect misunderstood clues, lost evidence, arguments about Dickens, churches, pubs and disorderly conduct from the investigative officers they laughingly call 'England's Finest'!

_______________________

What readers are saying:
***** 'Another gem from Christopher Fowler'

***** 'I've loved Bryant & May since I first discovered them'
***** 'A perfect collection of implausibly, improbably impossible mysteries for readers of Bryant and May both old and new'

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Track It. This book has been £3.99 within the past year.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • £
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track Christopher Fowler on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by Christopher Fowler.
  • to stop tracking Christopher Fowler.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on April 2, 2019.
  • This book was £9.99 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 11 times in the past 1,347 days.
  • The current price of this book is £4.99 last checked 5 hours ago.
  • This book is at its lowest price in the past 90 days.
  • This lowest price this book has been offered at in the past year is £3.99.
  • The lowest price to date was £3.99 last reached on May 6, 2022.
  • This book has been £3.99 3 times since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was £9.99 last reached on October 6, 2020.
  • This book has been £9.99 2 times since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • Lending: Disabled
  • Print Length: 320 Pages
  • File Size: 2,481 KB

We last verified the price of this book about 5 hours ago. At that time, the price was £4.99. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.co.uk website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.