Account

Company

  Menu
Large Image

Neon Leviathan

by (Grimdark Magazine)

(148 reviews)

£5.19

Share This

Description

A collection of stories about the outsiders - the criminals, the soldiers, the addicts, the mathematicians, the gamblers and the cage fighters, the refugees and the rebels.

From the battlefield, to alternate realities, to the mean streets of the dark city, we walk in the shoes of those who struggle to survive in a neon-saturated, tech-noir future. Twelve hard-edged stories from the dark, often violent, sometimes strange heart of cyberpunk, this collection - as with all the best science fiction - is an exploration of who were are now.

In the tradition of Dashiell Hammett, Philip K Dick, and David Mitchell, Neon Leviathan is a remarkable debut collection from a breakout new author.

"Haunting and iridescent -- combines the paranoid weirdness of the best Philip K Dick, the chilly but cool-as-fuck future gleam of cyberpunk, and an achingly beautiful literary inflection reminiscent of mainstream heavyweights like Murakami or Ishiguro. T. R. Napper's futures feel at once gritty and vertiginous and close-focus human in the way only the best SF can manage. Whatever roadmap he's working from, I can't wait to see where he's taking us next."
Richard Morgan, author of Altered Carbon

"It is easier to write about violence than to write about the aftermath -- the grief, the guilt, the long-held trauma. It's easier to write about the shouted argument than the taut silence which follows it. It's easier to write about dreamlike unreality than it is to invest a reader in the mundane and the everyday. And yet the stories within Neon Leviathan balance all these competing demands with a deft and masterful hand."
Adrian Tchaikovsky, author of Children of Time

"Some of these are hard reads, but they are suffused with beauty and a kind of brutal poetry... In short, this is an extremely powerful book. A bleak look at our future, for certain, but one that assures us that no matter how bad it gets, there will be people who put their head down, take the punches, and keep on going. Highly, highly recommended."
Auston Habershaw (Author of The Iron Ring)

"This short story collection is A+ by [T. R. Napper]. If you don't have it already you should. By far the closest contemporary SF writer to Philip K Dick."
Kat Clay (Author of Double Exposure)

"Neon Leviathan is cyberpunk updated from *before* the genre boiled itself down to just long jackets and LED strips and bleak cities with synth backgrounds. TL;DR: seriously good stuff."
Yudhanjaya Wijeratne (author Salvage Crew)

"In truth, Napper has done his inspiration proud, that being author Philip K. Dick, another master of the dystopian vision... Like Dick, Napper prefers to explore those things that we consider to be fundamental to our sense of self, both on the metaphysical and physical levels, just as much as he does the nature of reality and the supernatural."
Tangent Online

"An innovation... Right off the bat and throughout Neon Leviathan, Napper articulates well the cyberpunk subgenre motifs and themes while making his mark."
Cyberpunks

"Above all else, it really made me think. For a book to change your outlook on life is a huge achievement. I almost had the bravery to label it the 1984 of this generation; I genuinely feel this will be seen as a really important work in time to come and the potential for 'Napper' to eventually be spoken in the same sentence as 'Gibson, Dick, Leguin, Huxley, Wells.'"
Spells and Spaceships

"Suffice to say I'd be hard-pressed to come up with another book that rivals NEON LEVIATHAN when it comes to mind-blowing concepts, shocking storylines, and insane futuristic drugs and technology."
Out of this World SFF Reviews

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Track It. This book has been £2.99 within the past year.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • £
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track T.R. Napper on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by T.R. Napper.
  • to stop tracking T.R. Napper.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on October 14, 2020.
  • This book was £4.56 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 19 times in the past 1,322 days.
  • The current price of this book is £5.19 last checked 13 hours ago.
  • This book is at its lowest price in the past 90 days.
  • This lowest price this book has been offered at in the past six months is £4.56.
  • This lowest price this book has been offered at in the past year is £2.99.
  • The lowest price to date was £2.92 last reached on November 26, 2020.
  • This book has been £2.92 one time since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was £5.19 last reached on November 9, 2022.
  • This book has been £5.19 one time since we started tracking it.
  • This book is currently at its highest price since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • Lending: Disabled
  • Print Length: 359 Pages
  • File Size: 2,774 KB

We last verified the price of this book about 13 hours ago. At that time, the price was £5.19. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.co.uk website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.