Account

Company

  Menu

Description

'A satisfying, brooding mystery set in Stuart England anticipating the coming Civil War.' Paul Walker, author of State of Treason


London.

1639.

Thomas Tallant, a young and ambitious Spice Merchant, returns from India to find his city in turmoil.

A bitter struggle is brewing between King Charles I and Parliament, as England slides into civil war. The capital is simmering with dissent. The conflict is ready to boil over.

But Thomas soon has other troubles to contend with. A wealthy merchant, Sir Joseph Venell, is savagely killed; then his partner Sir Hugh Swofford plunges to his death, in the Tallant household.

Suspicion falls on Thomas, who is sucked into a mire of treachery and rumour within the City of London. As the merchant struggles to clear his name, he becomes captivated by the enigmatic Elizabeth Seymour, whose passion for astronomy and mathematics is matched only by her addiction to the gaming tables.

Pursued by the authorities, Thomas races to unmask the real killer who claims a third victim to implicate him further, toying with his future in a deadly cat and mouse game.

In a desperate race against time, Elizabeth applies her powers of logic and deduction to unearth the clues that will point to the killer, but her way is barred by a secret message from the grave.

Can she crack its code before Thomas, now a wounded and exhausted fugitive, succumbs to the chase?

And, if she succeeds, has Thomas the strength to face his tormentor and win his life and reputation back?

Rags of Time is the first book in an engaging and entertaining new historical crime series, set during the upheaval of the 17th Century. Recommended for fans of Andrew Taylor, CJ Sansom and SJ Parris.

Praise for Michael Ward:

'I loved it; a wickedly dark murder mystery set in Stuart London.' Jemahl Evans, author of The Last Roundhead


Michael Ward is a former journalist and academic. He now runs his own consultancy providing content services and training to a wide range of British companies and public sector organisations.

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Track It. This book has been £0.99 within the past year.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • £
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track Michael Ward on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by Michael Ward.
  • to stop tracking Michael Ward.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on January 1, 2021.
  • This book was £1.99 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 8 times in the past 1,242 days.
  • The current price of this book is £1.99 last checked 19 hours ago.
  • This book is at its lowest price in the past 90 days.
  • This lowest price this book has been offered at in the past year is £0.99.
  • The lowest price to date was £0.99 last reached on January 16, 2024.
  • This book has been £0.99 4 times since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was £1.99 last reached on February 12, 2024.
  • This book has been £1.99 5 times since we started tracking it.
  • This book is currently at its highest price since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • Lending: Disabled
  • Print Length: 223 Pages
  • File Size: 2,735 KB

We last verified the price of this book about 19 hours ago. At that time, the price was £1.99. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.co.uk website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.