Account

Company

  Menu

Description

Lose yourself in this absorbing and touching novel about change and the challenge to accept it from multi-million copy bestselling author Joanna Trollope. Beautifully written with exquisitely drawn characters and demonstrating a superb ability to understand people and relationships, it is perfect for readers of Elizabeth Noble, Erica James and Amanda Prowse.

'A beautifully drawn portrait of Cathedral life' -- Sunday Express
'A modern Barchester Chronicle' -- Sunday Telegraph
'Richly satisfying' -- Evening Standard
'Another wonderful book, I thoroughly enjoyed it. Joanna Trollope never disappoints' -- ***** Reader review
'Another tour de force by Trollope' -- ***** Reader review
'One of those stories that stay with you' -- ***** Reader review

***********************************************************************************
ONLY A MIRACLE CAN UNITE A CONGREGATION IN TURMOIL...
In the gentle precinct of Aldminster Cathedral, crisis looms.

The urbane and worldly Dean wants nothing so much as to restore and beautify his beloved Cathedral - even if it means sacrificing the Choir School to pay for it.

Alexander Troy, Headmaster of the school, a conscientious man, is determined that nothing and no-one - certainly not the overbearing Dean - should destroy the Choir.

As the rift widens to take on immense dimensions, many others find themselves caught in the schism - Leo Beckford, brilliant but wayward organist, repelling the adoration of the Dean's dreadful daughter; the gentle, left-wing Bishop, trying to soothe the angry protagonists; Sally Ashworth, mother of the leading chorister, fighting loneliness and an erring and absent husband...
Each frail and human dilemma takes its part in the greater turmoil of Chapter and Close and the final battle for the survival of the Choir.

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Track It. This book has been £0.99 within the past year.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • £
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track Joanna Trollope on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by Joanna Trollope.
  • to stop tracking Joanna Trollope.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on July 8, 2011.
  • This book was £4.49 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 46 times in the past 4,015 days.
  • The current price of this book is £2.99 last checked 7 hours ago.
  • This lowest price this book has been offered at in the past year is £0.99.
  • The lowest price to date was £0.99 last reached on February 8, 2022.
  • This book has been £0.99 3 times since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was £5.59 last reached on September 6, 2011.
  • This book has been £5.59 one time since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • Lending: Disabled
  • Print Length: 340 Pages
  • File Size: 1,866 KB

We last verified the price of this book about 7 hours ago. At that time, the price was £2.99. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.co.uk website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.