Account

Company

  Menu

Description

The impressively versatile Joanne Harris in her psychological thriller mode, at her darkest and most unsettling. Perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves, Susan Hill, Nicci French and Val McDermid.

'A magnificently plotted and twisty journey to the heart of a 24-year-old crime... darkly humorous... constantly wrongfoots and misdirects... up to a satisfyingly eccentric conclusion.' -- Observer
'Classy writing, sensitive and moving.' -- The Times
'Harris pulls off an impeccable thriller denouement... consistently entertaining.' -- Sunday Times
'Just fabulous' -- ***** Reader review
'An absolute triumph of a book' -- ***** Reader review
'Twists, turns and droll humour - a great read!' -- ***** Reader review
'Absorbing' -- ***** Reader review
****************************************************************************************************
After thirty years at St Oswald's Grammar in North Yorkshire, Latin master Roy Straitley has seen all kinds of boys come and go - the clowns, the rebels, the underdogs, and those he calls his Brodie boys. But every so often there's a boy who doesn't fit the mould. A troublemaker. A boy capable of twisting everything around him. A boy with hidden shadows inside.

With insolvency and academic failure looming, a new broom has arrived at the venerable school, bringing Powerpoint, sharp suits and even sixth form girls to the dusty corridors. But while Straitley does his sardonic best to resist this march to the future, a shadow from his past is stirring. A boy who even twenty years on haunts his teacher's dreams. A boy capable of bad things.

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Track It. This book has been £0.99 within the past year.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • £
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track Joanne Harris on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by Joanne Harris.
  • to stop tracking Joanne Harris.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on December 8, 2015.
  • This book was £9.99 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 42 times in the past 3,152 days.
  • The current price of this book is £3.99 last checked 2 hours ago.
  • This book is at its lowest price in the past 90 days.
  • This lowest price this book has been offered at in the past year is £0.99.
  • The lowest price to date was £0.99 last reached on February 11, 2024.
  • This book has been £0.99 10 times since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was £9.99 last reached on December 8, 2015.
  • This book has been £9.99 one time since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • Lending: Disabled
  • Print Length: 514 Pages
  • File Size: 8,552 KB

We last verified the price of this book about 2 hours ago. At that time, the price was £3.99. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.co.uk website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.